Dodgers’ Walker Buehler, Max Scherzer earn All-MLB first-team honors

Starting pitchers Walker Buehler and Max Scherzer were named to the All-MLB first team on Tuesday while fellow starter Julio Urias, relief pitcher Kenley Jansen and infielder Trea Turner were named to the second team.

This is the third year for the All-MLB honors which are determined by a combined vote of fans online and a panel of experts and feature players from both leagues.

The Dodgers’ five selections were the most for any team this year.

Buehler and Scherzer were two of the five starting pitchers named to the first team along with Cy Young Award winners Corbin Burnes (Milwaukee) and Robbie Ray (Toronto) plus Gerrit Cole New York Yankees). Urias (baseball’s only 20-game winner this season) was named to the second team along with Max Fried (Atlanta), Kevin Gausman (San Francisco), Shohei Ohtani (Angels), who was also the first-team designated hitter, and Zack Wheeler (Philadelphia).

Jansen was named one of four relief pitchers on the team. Josh Hader (Milwaukee) and Liam Hendriks (Chicago White Sox) were the first-teamers. Angels reliever Raisel Iglesias joined Jansen on the second team.

Among position players, only Turner made it from the Dodgers. He was named the second-team shortstop behind Fernando Tatis Jr. of the San Diego Padres.


Free-agent right-hander Beau Burrows announced on Twitter that he had signed with the Dodgers.

Credit link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button